top of page

Taylor Swift's Reputation Tour

On Friday 23rd June, I went to the Taylor Swift Reputation Tour at Wembley Stadium. The support acts for the night were Charli XCX and Camilla Cabello, both of who's performances were amazing! I had already seen Camilla Cabello live once before at the Teen Awards in 2017. The production of the concert was incredible, ranging from flame machines to fireworks. It took a massive 75 trucks to load everything into the stadium. The amount of power and enthusiasm that Taylor showed when she was singing was so empowering to see. The atmosphere in the stadium that night was unbelievable, and even when heading home via the train, everyone was happily singing her songs. I LOVE how concerts bring so many people together and that the people you meet are so friendly.

The video on the screen before the show talked about Taylor's reputation. The media has always produced negative headlines when it comes to Taylor Swift. Like the stories about Taylor Swift and Kanye West's disagreement over his song 'Famous'. The media insinuated that Taylor lied about not approving of the lyrics in the song. Personally, I think the media should stop trying to destroy Taylor's reputation as a singer. Instead, give her the credit she deserves for being bold enough to create an album that addresses the ludicrous comments she receives and for standing up for herself through her music. I think the reason she chose to address these comments through her songs is because she feels like other people may be able to relate to the lyrics within her songs. In particular, in one of the songs for her Reputation album 'End Game', the lyrics link to the way the media has represented her and altered her reputation. The lyric 'I got a reputation girl, that don't precede me' shows that people judge Taylor before even meeting her due to the media creating a negative image of her.

I had such an enjoyable night at the concert with my friends. Although, it made me think about the influence that negative media attention has over people. My advice to you is to always consider the context of a situation before making judgments about other people.

bottom of page